top of page

Weird October Week: Cartoons, Burnout and I'm fine ok

October 1st


Today is the anniversary of the TV show Bluey first airing in 2018. This Australian preschool program has developed quite the reputation internationally for being a program that will captivate parents as much as it interests its preschool demographic. The show is about a family of four anthropomorphic dogs in an anthro dog society Australia navigating daily life as the families two young daughters, Bluey and Bingo, slowly grow up. A number of adults who don't have kids even watch it just because it's extremely well made. And I'm enough of a man to admit I've cried watching Bluey before. It can get very sad and very sweet.


I will also admit the first time I heard of the series it was because they included Vinny and Joel from the Vinesauce streaming group as background charters in the series. Sorry if that fact is a bit of a whiplash from me crying.


------


October 2nd


Today is the second of three cartoon premiere anniversaries in a row, but this one is for an obscure cartoon network anthology series, Sunday Pants.The show is a shorts collection, featuring both acquired shorts and cartoon network produced animation that never really went elsewhere.


The series is probably best known for its obscurity, as only half the produced episodes aired once on Cartoon Network, and a handful of the individual shorts featured on Cartoon Network's sister channel Boomerang but aside from that the series has never seen reruns.

Likewise, until recently most of the series has been lost media, but thankfully now all but one of the produced episodes are online.




--------


October 3rd


Today I am covering another weird Cartoon Network show, the Secret Saturdays. The Secret Saturdays was an action cartoon about a family of cryptozoologists who live in a world where Cryptids are all just animals with superpowers. In my mind it exists in a trio of shows with Ben 10 and Generator Rex because they all look and feel pretty similar.


I distinctly remember this show having the first viral marketing campaign I remember being fooled by. In the series there's a show within a show hosted by the series antagonist, V.V. Argost's Weirdworld. Cartoon Network announced the series on television as this fictional cryptozoology edutainment series. My main assumption was that they were attempting to compete with discovery kids, which was popular among me and my pals at the time.I was actually pretty disappointed at the time that there wasn't going to be an educational series on Cartoon Network about cryptids after they hooked me on an fake webpage filled with made up information. it would at least have been more intriguing than the live action stuff that eventually ended up on the network. The end cartoon was decent but felt like a schedule supplement to Ben 10 they same way Generator Rex would be years later. Hence why I group those three together.


------


October 4th


Today is National Ship in a Bottle Day. Now the point of a ship in a bottle is that of a display of technical skill and wimsey. Obviously the ship is too big to go through the bottle's only entrance, so you have to construct the ship from inside the bottle. Naturally, this can take a lot of time, concentration and hand eye coordination.


On a similar principle, people grow pears inside of bottles they couldn't fit Into otherwise. Usually these jarred pears are preserved in alcohol, giving the liquor a fruit infusion in the process. That being said, this pear-in-the-bottle booze usually costs a little extra because of the complexity of getting the pear in there.


--------


October 5th


Today is the birthday of an excellent film, Wallace & Gromit: The Curse of the Were-Rabbit. Wallace & Gromit are among the most iconic stop motion charters in the world and maintain a status as the signature animation series of the Legendary Aardman animation studio. I can't even phone this in at this point, what is wrong with me?

--------


October 6th


Today is the birthday of a show I tried to watch but it wasn't what I was expecting. Jem and the holograms . I'm not going to lie. I was expecting something a lot more science fiction from the premise. Most of the episodes were dramatic but not fantastical and exactly what you would expect from an 80s kids show about pop musicians, but I can't say I've seen it in years. This is embarrassing. What? Can I only write like that when I know I’m near death or what?


------


October 7th


Ok this is a little embarrassing to admit but this is the last daily article in the foreseeable future. I wanted to do a whole last month but I didn't have the juice in me so all I've got is this week.


I really don't have the time to work on dailies like I used to, so I'm shifting my energy from quantity to quality. September was a test run, and I'm going to be shifting to a less regular schedule with longer articles. It's just progress for me. I'm looking forward to the future of WSTH, but I know if I keep trying to do the daily articles forever I'm going to hit a wall and in fact I have hit the wall I'm just done trying to push through the wall to the other side because there's no other side of my burnout it's just more freaking wall and my head is bleeding on the brick. I'm sure its my blood. i should talk to Mouse or Cal or somebody about this. oh well

30 views2 comments
bottom of page