top of page

August 20th

Today is Geocaching Day. Geocaching is a hobby that's a bit much to explain, so let's get straight into it. People get these typically plastic containers full of low value but potentially sentimental items, and they leave a notebook in this tub. They then hide the container and use a geocaching service to log its location.


Geocachers then seek out these geocaches. When they find them they leave their name and player code in the book to prove they were there. They also trade one of the caches treasures with a trinket of their own. And it's a self sustaining system.


But it's a great experience if you travel a lot. I don't travel as much as I'd like to but if I ever get to a point where I am going around the country, I'd likely take up geocaching.


[CONTRIBUTOR’S NOTE: I’ve been able to do some geocaching locally - think of it like a self-imposed scavenger hunt or a video game quest. It’s a fun way to get yourself out of the house, especially since a lot of geocaches are outdoors in parks or hiking trails.]

12 views4 comments
bottom of page