top of page

July 3rd

David the Contributor here again. Today is the 37th anniversary of Back to the Future’s release in theaters. Kind of a long weird story, but Back to the Future was actually a big factor in meeting my boyfriend. (Sorry, this article isn’t going to be anything about the actual movie.) [WEBMASTER NOTE: that doesn't matter here you're fine, it's a bittersweet but cute story] We first met at the funeral for my next-door neighbor, who happened to be his grandmother. She was also the computer science teacher at the middle school I went to. I ended up becoming pretty good friends with her, mowing her lawn sometimes and sticking around to talk tech. I would think to myself that our friendship made us like Doc and Marty McFly – that’s the best comparison I can make, she was a great mentor. Anyway, I met my boyfriend at her funeral, and Back to the Future came up as we were talking. He’d never seen it before, so I invited him over to watch it sometime, but his family was driving back to Florida the next day. I told him the offer stood if we ever met again. And we did meet again – he ended up moving into his grandmother’s house after graduating high school. The next time I saw him he brought up my movie-night offer, we watched Back to the Future and now we’ve been dating for 3 years! :-)


11 views0 comments
bottom of page