top of page

July 7th

Today in 1999 my favorite cooking show aired its first episode. Good Eats is a TV show created by and starring Alton Brown. The show is known for being a cooking show that goes more by the conventions of 90's edutainment like Bill Nye then you'd expect from a cooking show. In particular the show is known for its scientific explanations for why food does what it does while cooking. The show is also known for its use of skits and puppetry. This is the only cooking show I can think of that makes heavy use of puppetry, and I think that's a darn shame. I just need more topics approached like Good Eats talks about food in general. I will also mention Alton Brown also hosted a show called Cutthroat Kitchen, in which was a cooking competition where people risk their prize money to sabotage the other contestants and that's a fun watch too.

21 views6 comments
bottom of page