top of page

March 15th - Buzzards Day

Today is Buzzards Day, and can I just say scavenging birds are so misinterpreted and underrated. While unlike vultures, buzzards prefer fresh meat like mice (sorry Maxwell) and voles, they will scavenge if they gotta. And humans should be more glad about it then they are. Scavenging birds are nature's janitors, and like human janitors they don't get half the respect they deserve.


This next part might be a bit macabre but it's worth saying, so if you don't want to hear about death or decay stop here. Preparation of the dead is a largely human practice, and in nature you are eaten or you decay. I think if I was a creature in nature I'd prefer to be consumed by another vertebrae animal as opposed to being gored by insects, bacteria, fungi and time. If I didn't live in a world where I'm hopefully going to be cremated and turned into a gemstone someday after I'm done, I'd rather the birds get me than the flies.


[EDITOR’S NOTE: No offense taken, Tom. All part of nature. Also, ever heard of Sky Burial?]


28 views6 comments
bottom of page