top of page

This or that: Ariel & Tom w/ Cal

Another Friday observing the site's moderation. The following is a discussion between the site’s Webmaster and Dynamo as they answer a series of 10 "this or that" questions testing who they are as people. This time, there is a twist—Calexta is moderating the questions in Tom’s place.


Cal: Question 1: Mars or Venus?


Ariel: Venus is such a pretty name for a really pretty planet, but ohhh Mars is a beautiful rusty red and covered in cute rovers! I’m gonna go with Mars. There was a cool Backyardigans episode about Mars, that was my favorite one as a kid. If you could pick any planet Tom, what would you go with?


Tom: To be honest, I'd really like to visit Mars and check on the robots.


A: I want to befriend the robots, I think they could use more company there. There was that one rover that sang “Happy Birthday” to itself, and that makes me so sad. I would sing to the robots instead.


T: And I do remember that Backyardigans episode, wasn't there an alien mom?


A: There was! And did you know she’s voiced by Alicia Keys?


T: I knew it was a celebrity guest but couldn't remember who.


A: Almost everything is boinga here, it’s the Martians’ favorite word! Finding that out once I was older was totally mind-blowing to me.


T: Did you know They Might Be Giants were in the last episode of Blue's Clues?


A: They WERE? What?!


C: Hehehe, you got him started.


A: Oh, we could talk about famous music artists appearing on kids’ shows all day!

T: They were the episode's mail time letter song! They played “Clap Your Hands”, the clean version.


A: That’s amazing!


T: And did you know—


C: We have 9 more questions, Tom.


A: Yeah, Tom. Hehehehe.


C: Question 2: Garfield or Snoopy?


T: I feel like I'm slightly more emotionally invested in the Peanuts.


A: Snoopy all the way! I love Garfield, but Snoopy is my favorite animal design of the pair. But they’re both pretty witty and mischievous, which I love about them equally. Garfield is smug and cynical about everything. Snoopy doesn’t even talk but is clearly very imaginative and even sassy. And I do get you Tom, it’s easy to feel attached to the Peanuts. We grew up with Peanuts DVDs, after all.


T: What was that one we always watched at your house?


A: A Charlie Brown Christmas! My parents would put it on when we were little when we met up for Christmas Eve.


T: Yes! I really don't remember watching that one much except at your house, to be honest. Whenever someone parodies the dance, I'm right back at your place filled with the smell of your mom's gingersnaps.


A: Oh, you’re so right. My mom makes the best gingersnaps and she only makes them once a year. I’d say the gingersnaps and the movie are synonymous with each other. I haven’t watched the movie in ages myself, but I have really fond memories of us hanging out with that playing in the background. Maybe next December we can all have a watch party hangout at my place! With gingersnaps. And eggnog!


T: Oh, that would rock.


C: Question 3: Chess or Checkers?


A: Checkers, I’m waaaaaay better at checkers. Chess is a more dignified game—something I see like, classy academics playing all the time. Or old guys smoking pipes.


T: I have no idea how to play chess, so checkers gets the default trophy from me.


A: That’s completely fair, there are too many rules for chess. I can’t remember a single one.


C: It's a game for computers and people who are a little too good at counting. Speaking of games…


C: Question 4: Word search or Crossword?


T: Crosswords all the way for me.


A: Crosswords? Really? That’s like, a dad hobby.


T: I hate staring at a clump of letters. I like clues.


A: Well, I like word searches! I like using my favorite glitter gel pens for them. I remember we used to do them sometimes for extra credit in a few classes growing up. I’m suuuuuper good at them, but Mouse was always much faster than me.


T: Mouse still does word searches on her phone.


A: Ha! Sounds like Mouse. Honestly I’ve picked up some cheap word search books now and again… I can’t help it, they’re addictive.


C: Question 5: Butterfly or Dragonfly?


A: Butterflies—there are so many colorful, intricate varieties and they’re all amazing. I think I’d love to make a butterfly garden one day.


T: I'm going to say dragonfly because they're like, one of the top seven zippiest animals on Earth.


A: They’re super zippy! Remember when we went to some pond once and I actually got to touch a dragonfly’s tail? One of my greatest achievements.


T: You were beaming like the sun the whole rest of the day.


A: It’s a once-in-a-lifetime moment!


T: It really is.


C: Ok, another bug question incoming.


C: Question 6: Bee or Ladybug?


A: I can’t choose! If it’s a bee I like bumble bees the most, or the bees from the Honeyhive Galaxy in Super Mario Galaxy. I also love ladybugs, lots of red and orange ones land on my front door pretty often during the summer.


T: I appreciate bees and their service but I'm also allergic to them. So ladybug.


A: Poor Tom, how allergic are you to them again? Is it like big puffy welts or ‘I could literally die’? You’ve got a great track record of not getting stung.


T: I don't know, but it came up positive the last time I got an allergy test. I will admit, it's easy not to attract bees wearing long sleeves and dark colors all year. I really only put bright colors in my wardrobe recently.


A: I should follow what you do just once. I dress like a flower constantly, they always try to land on me!


T: About Super Mario Galaxy, I think I played that at your house once and that's the only time I've played it. But I love the Bee Mario look. I think they should give Mario a ladybug power up.


A: OH MY GOSH, YES! We have Bee Mario, we need Ladybug Mario! Imagine this: In the same way Mario gets a fuzzy bee body and bee wings, Ladybug Mario gets big red ladybug elytra with polka dots and little antennae. I guess it would serve the same purpose as Bee Mario, aside from climbing on honeycombs.


T: I just think he'd be cute in red and black polkadot overalls.


A: I think so, too! We’re geniuses, we should contact Nintendo.


C: Question 7: Sad or Angry?


T: Like, which would we rather be?


C: I don't know, you wrote the question!


T: That's true. I guess I'd rather be sad because it's easier to hide.


A: Hmm… I guess they’re necessary emotions either way. Being sad is good when you need to have a cry, my dad always says you feel better after crying. But when I get angry I feel weirdly driven. I’m like a different person when I’m angry, Tom could tell you.


T: Oh geez, yes. I think that Greg guy is still scared of you. He was a real tool, he deserves it.


A: I scared the heck out of him! He is a tool. If he tries anything again he’s got me to answer to. I don’t think he wants that.


T: You got him in front of his mom too, and then she got mad at him because she heard why you were mad at him! As bad as that was, it’s pretty hilarious looking back.


A: Good that she was there! She needed to hear it. It is super funny nowadays—I was angry, but not for much longer. I straightened him out.


T: Indeed…


C: Do I even want to know?


T: I'll tell you later. The rest of that story isn't really appropriate for the website.


C: Question 8: Cooking or Baking?


A: Definitely baking! I love making desserts and baked goods, like cookies with jam fillings, or puff pastries, or cakes.


T: I'm still thinking about your bubble gum cotton candy cupcakes, they were a perfect sugar overload.


A: I’m so happy you still love my cupcakes! Apparently those were a hit. They’re super fun to make, I’ll make them again soon! I just need to find my special sprinkles, they are necessary.


T: Yeah, you can't beat a good sprinkle mix like that.


C: How about you, Tom?


T: I'm going to say cooking, I make a mean slow cooker.


A: I need to try one of your slow cooked meals. What’s your go-to meal for that?


T: Beef with potatoes and carrots in a mushroom broth.


A: Nice choice! A simple, hearty meal. I don’t like mushrooms as much but I promise to try that stew someday.


C: Question 9: Sheep or Cows?


A: I’ve hugged sheep on a farm once and once you hug a sheep you can never go back. You can’t help but love them. I also have a Lamb Chop stuffie gifted to me as a baby. Probably considered vintage now!


T: Oh, I remember your Lamb Chop. Did you know a lot of that show is considered lost media now? Most of the first season is missing, they only found the first episode within the last month.

A: I believe you! Lamb Chop’s Play-Along is a hazy memory for me. I didn’t know that much was lost! I hope any further search efforts are more fruitful in the next few years. I’d like to see it all together again in my lifetime.


T: Same here. It’s a classic puppet show but it feels like it just dropped out of any reruns.


C: Thomas—sheep or cows?


T: I'm going to have to say sheep for the same reason Air did. That 7th grade field trip was great.


C: I don't know if I even really need to ask this one, but it's the last question.


C: Question 10: Stars or Hearts?


T: Yeahhhh, you know I'd choose stars.


A, nearly jumping from her seat: HEARTS! I love hearts SO much! I have a LOT of heart-themed stationary and stickers and stamps. Although I really appreciate stars existing. I couldn’t imagine a night without glittering stars. Ever heard the song “Wish You Were Here” by Incubus?


T: I probably have but I can't quite put a finger on it.


A: That’s okay, it’s not my usual music but it’s on my mom’s car ride playlist and it stuck with me. Just know there’s this one line—“the sky resembles a backlit canopy with holes punched in it”. And I just really love that line. It’s such a poetic description of stars.


T: I'm going to be honest, that lyric reminds me of like, that craft method of poking holes in a paper and then making it a lamp or something. Homemade constellations.


A: Ah, that’s right! I loved doing that when I was little! And it makes sense that you like stars, Tom. There’s a star on your shirt, your profile picture is the same star! You are that rainbow star.


T: I am that rainbow star.


C: He’s my rainbow star, that's for sure. 😘


A: You guys are so cute! So cheesy and sappy, what more could you ask for?


C: I do my best.


T: Hehehe.



58 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page